The Final Changes to the 2022 Membership…

To round out the 2022 Membership Roster, please note the following changes:

#941: Ted & Theresa Kratschmer
have resigned after welcoming a new baby to their family.

To fill out our membership at 150 members, let’s welcome our new member:

#996: Michael Moore
The Letterkraft Press
Independence, Kentucky

I first met Michael back in 2013, when I was liquidating Williams Stationery Co., in Camden, New York.  He was quick to snap up my 8×12 Chandler & Price New Series with pony fountain, a Hammond Glider G4 saw (I had two, only need one now!) and one of my 18″x18″ custom made Imposing Stone Galley Racks we had positioned by every press.

He has about 40 years experience in printing, about the same as me, and is a really nice guy. I’m happy to see him join our Merry Band of Letterpress Printers!!  Welcome Aboard Michael!!

Our Last Two New Members Until the “Dues Shake-Out”!

Let’s welcome our two newest members:

994: Teresa Sponaugle
Grain Bin Press
Greeley, Colorado
995: Sarah M. Smith
Olfactory Gleanings
White River Junction, Vermont

These two new members with be the last additions until we shake out those who have not paid their dues or have decided to not continue with us this year.  But, as of now, we have our full compliment of 150 Active Members, plus 1 Tramp Printer.

2022 Initial Membership Roster Changes…

Happy New Year, and welcome to 2022.
With the new year, there are the usual roster changes.
Below are the changes:

Members Who Were Removed Or Resigned:

#287: Bob Oldham
#589: Alan C. Waring
#706: John A. Rogers, Jr.
#822: M. Casey McGarr
#881: Eric Woods
#919: Debbie Campbell
#920: Marie Oberkirsch
#925: Jeffery Shepherd
#947: Heather Hughes
#965: Le Huong Huynh
#978: Meredith Dimon

New Members Joining Our Ranks:

#983: Mitchel Ahern
Mitchelka Show Card Press
Lynn, Massachusetts

#984: Brent Comstock
Oshkosh, Wisconsin

#985: Breanna Frey
Ozford, Ohio

#986: Karen Sawyer-Meehan
Bremerton, Washington

#987: Kelli Bello & Larry Richling
Omaha, Nebraska

#988: Ian Edelson
Leesburg, Virginia

#989: Arwinn Heartisan
Aspiring Happiness Press
Prescott, Arizona

#990: Gerald Flynt Schulze & Li Chen
Small Works Press
Detroit, Michigan

#991: Ann St. Martin Stout
Leaves Are Free Printing
Newport, New Hampshire

Former Members Being Reinstated:

#90: Rolland Rice
Crown Flexo Graphics
Concord, California
#878: Lawrence Peterson & Gene Gates
Nine-18-Thousandths Press
Henderson, Nevada

David L. Kent, APA Archivist: 1940-2021

David Kent was the APA Archivist from January 1, 1993 until February 1, 2021. He took over the duties of the archivist from Carol Kent, who held the position for the previous four years. He passed his duties as archivist on to Lauri Taylor on February 2, 2021. He served this organization as the longest serving Archivist at 28 years, 1 month and 1 day. He was only the third member to hold that position since it was created in 1969.  It appears the first 10 years, there was not a thought of maintaining a record of past activities for archival purposes. His consistent duty to accuracy and details has long been appreciated by members, and he will be missed.

Personally, I never met David, but did on a few occasions converse with him, and he was always insightful and a pleasure to talk with.

And, as we all saw in the December 2021 Bundle, here are the thoughts from Robert L. Kent, APA #542: