In Search of Wayzgoose 2017 Location!

Representing the Denver letterpress community, Jason Wedekind has just advised me that they have elected not to host the Wayzgoose next year. At this point we still have an offer on the table from Mark Barbour to stage it at the International Printing Museum. It’s good to get to each coast now and then, but the midwest is America’s letterpress center of gravity, and gathering there will facilitate the maximum attendance.

Personally, I think Printers Hall in Mt. Pleasant, Iowa, is about as perfect a venue and location as we could ask for. There’s also a lot of letterpress happening in and around Madison, Wisconsin, including the huge shop Ky & Sara have put together in a big old former furniture store. Do we get to see that one of these years, hint hint?

So the window of opportunity is open, folks. Whither shall we convene next summer?

Sky Shipley
APA President

Hail and Farewell Gordon Rouze #602

Longtime APA member Gordon Rouze has advised that he’s decided to hangup the composing stick at last. His shop has been acquired by another person in the Houston letterpress community, and by request Gordon is being promoted to Tramp status in APA.

The resulting membership vacancy will be filled by the next applicant on the waiting list.

Hail and Farewell Gordon, we were honored to have you among us.

Sky Shipley
APA President

2017 Board of Directors Announced

By majority approval of the APA Board of Directors, the following candidates are hereby appointed to office effective January 1, 2017:

Vice President:
Sophomore Director:

Joe Warren, #648
Mark Barbour, #662
Lauri Taylor, #860
Jim Daggs, #695
Matt Kelsey, #838

Remaining as Junior and Senior Directors, respectively, are Lawrence Peterson, #878 and Greg Walters, #777.

Archivist is an appointed position with an “indefinite term” and unless we hear otherwise, good old David Kent, #599 will be continuing as such.

On behalf of all APA members, a sincere thank you to these volunteers.

Sky Shipley
APA President